No One Will Know

Growing up, I was the kind of kid who had to clean my room very often. Why, because I made it messy very often. I’ve stated in a past post how much I hate cleaning my room. Because of this hatred of room cleaning I looked for shortcuts.

As I thought about short cuts it occurred to me that I had a lot of empty space underneath my bad. In fact, I had enough empty space that I could throw all my stuff under there, be done with cleaning my room and no one would ever find out.

It was the perfect plan…until my dad came in to check my room. He would look around my room, eyeing it with approval and then, much to my dismay, he would look under my bed. Before I knew it my stuff was pulled out from under my bed and I found myself cleaning again.

I assumed my dad would never find out about the toys underneath my bed, but I was dead wrong.  Looking back on this event we realize just how foolish my thinking was, and yet we play that very same game with God almost every day.

In Isaiah 47 we see that the Babylonians had a problem. They were doing wrong and practicing wicked things. They however didn’t have a problem with any of this because they believed that their actions were going completely unseen (Isaiah 47:10). Little did they know that God knew about every wrong action they were doing.

Don’t we do the same? Maybe the roads are empty and we decide to drive 10 miles over. No one will know right? Maybe we are in a convenience store and no one’s around so we take that pack of gum and stick it in our pocket. Maybe you are all alone in your house with your computer. No one will know right?

Many times this is our attitude when it comes to sin. We think we can get away with the sin and that no one will ever find out. When we think this way we are disregarding the fact that God knows everything, even those things we think are done in secret (Psalm 139:1-6). This fact should make us want to change.

I don’t know where you are in your life. Maybe you’re struggling with some sinful action that you just can’t seem to quit. I don’t want to alarm you, but that action is not secret. God knows. He knows and He wishes for you to change. If you are involved with some secret sin, don’t wait. Make the change and give that sin up. We can try to hide sin under our beds but eventually our Father will make it known to us, and by that time it will be too late. -Jack D.

Leave a Reply

