Persistence Pays Off

As you read these words I am on campaign in the northern part of Indiana. This week myself and several students from the Bear Valley Bible Institute are up here working with several area congregations in order to help them evangelize and make themselves known in the community. Working with several congregations means lots of walking and lots and lots of door knocking.

On Monday we were handing out tracts talking about one of the local congregations in Fort Wayne, Indiana. It was later in the afternoon. We had just eaten lunch and we were going out for our second trip to the neighborhoods. We were catching more and more people at home during this time and it felt like the doors I was knocking on were rejecting me over and over again.

I don’t know about you, but when I get rejected over and over again I get discouraged. There was a stretch of 3 houses in a row that caused me to feel as if I wasn’t accomplishing anything worthwhile. I worked to get that thought out of my mind as I pressed on throughout the day.

Eventually, I got down to having only one pamphlet left in my hand. When I got to my last house I knocked on the door and introduced myself and what I was doing. The lady’s response was: “you might not believe this, but I’m actually in the process of looking for a church home.”

Looking back I wonder what would have happened if I had let that discouragement creep in. That door might have never been knocked on and she might have never heard about the church of Christ in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

In Jude 3, the writer Jude introduces his letter by writing: “Beloved, while I was making every effort to write you about our common salvation, I felt the necessity to write to you appealing that you contend earnestly for the faith which was once for all handed down to the saints..” In short, Jude is encouraging his audience to strive or persevere for the faith. In order for them to not betray the true doctrine of Christ (the faith) they have to be persistent (contend earnestly) in teaching that which is true.

When we spread the gospel, there will be times on our life that we are rejected. Our message may be disregarded or cast off. We have to be persistent, even during times of rejection. If we let discouragement sink in we may miss that one individual who was willing to listen to us. We have to be persistent in our spreading of the gospel to others, because persistence pays off.

Leave a Reply

