“Bring Biblical”

During my time in Africa, I learned a great deal from the students I was teaching. Throughout our study of 1st and 2nd Corinthians many questions arose. Occasionally this would lead to “chasing rabbits” so to speak. As we were studying a student would raise his hand and ask a question that he had on his mind. I would do my best to answer the question and on occasion I found that I had presented a thought but didn’t give them a reference to the Scripture that my belief came from. Whenever I made a mistake in this area one student (brother Amos) would always say “can you bring biblical?”

What a beautiful question that was! While the grammar of this statement was not completely correct, I understood the point he was trying to make. He didn’t want to know what my opinion was; he wanted to know God had to say.

Every time he asked me I was always reminded of the Bereans. The Bereans were said to be “more noble” than the Jews in Thessalonica (Acts 17:11 ESV). They were “more noble” because they “received the word with all eagerness” and they examined “the Scriptures daily” (Acts 17:11).

The Bereans didn’t take Paul at his word. They compared what he had said against the word of God. They didn’t want man’s opinion! They wanted the very words of God (2 Timothy 3:16).

Remember that in your study of the Bible or in your giving of advice that you need to “bring biblical.” Any advice, or doctrine not founded on God’s word is just opinion. True spiritual progress (growth) can only be made when we “examine” the word of God as the Bereans did.

When reading books written by men or hearing lessons preached by men compare what they have said with the word of God. Make sure that they are “bringing biblical” and make sure that you only give to others that which is biblical as well. – Jack D.

Leave a Reply

