Never Really Alone

“I have been very jealous for the Lord, the God of hosts. For the people of Israel have forsaken your covenant, thrown down your altars, and killed your prophets with the sword, and I, even I only, am left, and they seek my life, to take it away.” (1 Kings 19:14)

I remember playing baseball as a little kid. I wasn’t much of a runner in those days, but I knew how to get on base.The only thing I had to do was hit the ball.

I can remember standing in the batter’s box at 10 or so years old and thinking to myself “it’s just you out here.” In my mind I was all alone. I didn’t think about my parents in the stands, or my team in the dugout. The only thing I could think about was my mission and even though I was surrounded by people, I felt as if I was all alone in accomplishing my goal of hitting the ball…

I’d like to think Elijah was the same way. Elijah was a prophet of the Lord during the times of the kings of Israel. He had just come away from a great victory over the prophets of Baal (1 Kings 18:20-40). It was there on Mount Carmel that the Lord showed his great power and his support of Elijah.

Not long after this victory however, we see Elijah sitting in a cave proclaiming that he was utterly alone (19:10, 14). Was Elijah really alone though?

Elijah, in his despair, forgot that the Lord was on his side! He also seemed to have forgotten about the many other prophets of God in the area (19:18).

I find it funny that after this account of Elijah’s loneliness, we see the mention of “a prophet” or “a man of God” multiple times within the following chapters (cf. 1 Kings 20:13, 28, 41; 2 Kings 2:3, 5).

Elijah was a man with a mission from God, but he let himself become discouraged thinking he was the only worker. We too, have a mission from God. That mission is evangelism (2 Timothy 2:2).

As we go out teaching others it may seem like we are the only ones out there working for the Lord. It may seem as if we are the only “light” in a world full of darkness (Matthew 5:14-16), when in reality there are thousands of other Christians around shining for Christ.

When we focus on self it is really easy to get discouraged about the work but, when we remember that the Lord is with us the work becomes much easier. Let us remember in those times of loneliness that God is on our side. Do not give up. Keep fighting and remember that we, who are Christians, are never really alone. -Jack D.

One Response to Never Really Alone

  1. jbroberts says:

    I love this section of scripture. Great blog, Jack!

Leave a Reply

